121 Diamond Spring Road
Denville, NJ 07834
973.627.6555

Databases

The Denville Public Library has several great databases available for your use at the library or from home. When using a database from home a library card number is required to login.
  • Contemporary Authors

  • This site provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
  • Custom Newspapers

  • New Jersey newspapers, The New York Times, plus many more national and international newspapers. Also includes a large variety of British newspapers.
  • EBSCO

  • EBSCO contains the following search tools.
    • MasterFILE Premier

    • This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 2,050 general reference publications dating as far back as 1975. Also includes more than 350 full text reference books, 82,968 biographies, 90,915 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags.
    • Academic Search Premier
    • Top scholarly research journals in social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry and medical sciences.
    • Middle Search Plus
    • Provides full text for more than 150 popular magazines for middle and junior high school research. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator.
    • EBSCO Animals
    • Offers in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals.
    • Primary Search
    • Provides full text for more than 60 popular magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator.
    • Business Source Premier
    • Scholarly business journals, trade journals, business magazines, country economic reports, industry reports, and market research reports.
    • Business Source Elite
    • Provides full text for 1,133 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 500 peer-reviewed business publications.
    • Regional Business News
    • Incorporates full-text coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
    • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
    • Provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
    • Health Source: Consumer Edition
    • Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
    • Clinical Pharmacology
    • Provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically-relevent drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs.
    • Newspaper Source
    • Selected full text for 25 national and international newspapers. Also contains television and radio news transcripts and more than 200 regional newspapers.
    • ERIC
    • The Educational Resource Information Center contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals.
    • Searchasaurus
    • This is a special children's interface for Primary Search, Middle Search and the Encyclopedia of Animals.
    • Automotive Repair Reference Center
    • Contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1945.
  • Facts on File

  • This resource contains the following databases.
    • African American History and Culture: An Online Encyclopedia
    • American Indian History and Culture: An Online Encyclopedia
    • American Women's History and Culture: An Online Encyclopedia
    • Landmark Documents in American History: An Online Encyclopedia
    • American Historical Images: An Online Archive
    • Career Guidance Online
    • World Atlas Online
    • Science Online
    • Science Experiments Online
    • Curriculum Resource Center
    • Forms on File Online
  • Informe

  • Spanish language periodical and pamphlet database. Includes full text articles and images from over 140 Spanish and bilingual products.
  • MagillOnliterature

  • The information in this database equals the complete contents of 31 sets of reference books. These sets include 5 Masterplots titles, 14 Masterplots II titles, the 5-volume Cyclopedia of World Authors, the 5-volume Cyclopedia of Literary Characters, 10 years of Magill's Literary Annual, and Magill Book Reviews.
  • NoveList

  • A fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 120,000 fiction titles. Also includes Author Read-alikes, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Feature Articles. For school media specialists and teachers there are Standards-Based Thematic Units and Picture Book Extenders, as well as specific teaching guides for using fiction in the classroom.
  • Proquest National Newspapers

  • Coverage of 9 major US newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Boston Globe, and The Atlanta Journal/Constitution. The Los Angeles Times and The Chicago Tribune are also part of the database.
  • Proquest Research Library

  • Provides access to over 2,700 journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science and psychology.
  • ReferenceUSA

  • 12 million U.S. business profiles searchable by name, yellow page heading, and geographic location. Also gives corporate linking, credit rating codes, and number of employees.
  • Google Scholar

  • Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
The following databases can be accessed from the library only.
  • American National Biography Online

  • Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women - from all eras and walks of life - whose lives have shaped the nation.
  • Newspaper Archives - Star Ledger / Times of Trenton / Jersey Journal & More

  • Complete text of the following newspapers: Newark Star Ledger, Trenton Times, Jersey Journal, Express Times, Hunterdon County Democrat, The Chronicle, Somerset Reporter, Cranford Chronicle, Independent Press, Suburban News, Westfield Record-Press, and Warren Reporter.
  • Proquest Historical Newspapers - New York Times

  • The complete full-text of the New York Times from 1851. Every backfile issue of The New York Times has been digitized from cover to cover, including new stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements.